On Our Nightstand #2

Here’s what the members of Corsets & Cutlasses are reading this week! 
 
But for BirminghamFrom Laura Golden: BUT FOR BIRMINGHAM​ : The Local and National Movements in the Civil Rights Struggle for my current WIP. Also, DUKE by Kirby Larson which is waiting patiently to be real aloud to my boys.
 
the wolvesFrom Sue Hill Long: ​ There’s a stack of books on my nightstand, but  on top is a book I read over and over again as a young reader: ​THE WOLVES OF WILLOUGHBY CHASE, by the great​ Joan Aiken​.  Reading it takes me right back to cold, snowy nights growing up in Maine. I loved the extensive cast of villainous and heroic characters, the Edward Gorey cover art, and the delicious series of unfortunate events for poor Bonnie and Sylvia.​
 
charm & strangeFrom Katy Longshore: I’m about to start CHARM AND STRANGE by Stephanie Kuehn.  I’ve been wanting to read it for months and the Thanksgiving holiday gives me just the reason. The premise is darkly compelling and my first glimpse at the writing inside has got me hooked.

curtsies & conspiraciesFrom Jessica Spotswood: I just finished CURTSIES AND CONSPIRACIES ​by Gail  Carriger. I love this steampunk series about an unusual girls’ finishing school – it takes  place on a dirigible floating above the moors and teaches the girls espionage! In this second installment (following ETIQUETTE & ESPIONAGE), Sophronia thwarts several kidnapping attempts on her best friend, gets the highest marks in her class, and gets several beaux. 
 
victorian lady travellersFrom Sharon Biggs Waller: ​As usual I’m reading several books at once. On my Kindle, I’m currently reading MY MISTAKE, a memoir by Daniel Menaker, who was an editor at The New Yorker  and Random House. I love reading behind the scenes stories, especially about publishing, and this book is full of them.  I’m also working my way through VICTORIAN LADY TRAVELLERS by Dorothy Middleton.  This book recounts the adventures of seven English and American women during the Victorian period who traveled all over the globe during a time when women didn’t travel.  This one is research for a work in progress.  I also started a middle grade historical called BROTHERHOOD, which is by my Viking publishing sibling Anne Westrick. This is a post-Civil War story of a teenage boy pressured into joining the Ku Klux Klan during Reconstruction. 
 
bellman & blackFrom Cat Winters: ​I’m reading (and absolutely loving!) BELLMAN & BLACK by Diane Setterfield. I adored the author’s Gothic debut novel, THE THIRTEENTH TALE, and this new book, the story of a man haunted by a childhood act of killing a rook with a slingshot, is equally dark and compelling.
 
What do you think, readers? Are any of these on your to-be-read list? What’s on YOUR nightstand this week?
One thought on “On Our Nightstand #2

Leave a Reply

