Historical TV Series Addictions!

HistoricalTVSeries (475x158)

We seem to be experiencing a golden age of historical TV series. During any month of the year, historical dramas involving fabulous costumes and settings jump off of our TV (or computer) screens in vivid colorblood, scandal, anachronisms, and all. They may not all be steeped in historical accuracy, but they do celebrate, criticize, and embrace the past . . . as good historical entertainment ought to do.

This week we Corsets, Cutlasses, & Candlesticks members enjoyed an entertaining conversation about our favorite historical TV series. We’re presenting our picks of beloved programs below, and we ask you to please join in on the conversion in the comments section.

To which historical TV series are you most addicted?

TVPoster_CopperRENEE COLLINS: I’ve become obsessed with Copper lately. Very cool show!

LAURA GOLDEN: I don’t watch much television, so I’m not always up-to-date on the latest shows, but I do love Downton Abbey. How can one not? And if I could count the fantasy/fairy tale flashbacks in Once Upon A Time as historical, I adore that show, too. 😉

TVPoster_RipperStreetSHARON BIGGS WALLER: I really love BBC America’s Ripper Street, which is set in the Victorian era shortly after the Jack the Ripper murders and features a London Metropolitan police inspector. I like to watch it with my husband, who is a former Metropolitan mounted police constable, because he explains some of the history to me. I’m also obsessed with the BBC farm history series. They’ve done the Edwardian Farm, the Victorian Farm, Wartime Farm, and recently the Tudor Monastery Farm. It’s about archeologists who recreate Britain’s farming past. You can watch these on YouTube. For a farmer girl and history geek like me, they are fascinating and inspiring.

JESSICA SPOTSWOOD: I’m another Downton Abbey fan! I love the upstairs/downstairs thing.

TVPoster_VikingsELIZABETH MAY: OMG Vikings. VIKINGS. Beautiful landscape shots, excellent cast, and incredibly addicting. It’s a gorgeous show.

CAT WINTERS: I’m addicted to Downton AbbeyMr Selfridge, Call the Midwife, Mad Men, Copper, and Boardwalk Empire. The one that makes me laugh and bawl the most is Call the Midwife. If we’re also counting 1980s-inspired sitcoms, I’ll throw The Goldbergs in there, too.

TVPoster_CalltheMidwifeSUSAN HILL LONG: I second Call the Midwife. Surprisingly wonderful!!

KATHERINE LONGSHORE: I’m a huge Downton Abbey fan, tooupstairs/downstairs, gorgeous costumes, stunning locations and Maggie Smith. Big win. Call the Midwife inspires me with every episode. Chummy is my favorite. 🙂 I love the British version of Life on Mars (if you consider the 80s historical!) and am looking forward to getting a chance to see Peaky Blinders, about a group of gangsters in Birmingham after World War I.

TVPoster_HorribleHistories2J. ANDERSON COATS: I don’t watch a lot of TV either, but mine would be Horrible Histories. Hands down. I love Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife, too. Apparently I’m gonna have to squeeze in Peaky Blinders too.

TVPoster_SleepyHollowJENNIFER MCGOWAN: Sleepy Hollow was my fav historical show this year. 🙂 just… so much win. 🙂

All rightyour turn now. What are your historical TV series addictions?

About Cat Winters

Cat Winters’s critically acclaimed debut novel, IN THE SHADOW OF BLACKBIRDS, was named a 2014 Morris Award Finalist, a 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults pick, a 2013 Bram Stoker Award Nominee, and a School Library Journal Best Book of 2013. Her second novel, THE CURE FOR DREAMING, is a 2015 Amelia Bloomer Project Nominee and a 2015 Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee. Her upcoming books include THE UNINVITED (William Morrow/2015) and THE STEEP AND THORNY WAY (Amulet Books/2016), and she’s a contributor to the 2015 YA horror anthology SLASHER GIRLS & MONSTER BOYS. Cat lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and two kids. Visit her online at http://www.catwinters.com.

6 thoughts on “Historical TV Series Addictions!

  1. Abby says:

    Of course I love Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife, but I also just discovered Murdoch Mysteries, which is a lot of fun. American Dreams was canceled ages ago, but I loved it while it was on. Definitely going to check out Vikings!

  2. I haven’t watched Vikings yet because I get so crazy when they are stereotyped and turned into RenFaire jokes, and I’m really afraid that this show is like that. But if you recommend it…

    With Call the Midwife, I still can’t past the first episode and the woman with 26 children! Yikes!

    Love Downton Abbey and Sleepy Hollow (as goofy as it is), and Mr. Selfridge is fun too (Agnes rules!). Ripper Street and Copper are both in my queue for summer watching with my daughter.

  3. stephswint says:

    I adore Downton Abby, Call the Midwife, and Sleepy Hollow. I’m very curious about the upcoming Starz show Outlander based off of Diana Gabaldon’s books. Anyone here have thoughts on it? I’m a bit nervous, although the clips look like they are remaining true to the story.

  4. catemorgan says:

    How can anyone not j’adore Downton Abbey and the Adorable Bateses ™? And the Maggie/Shirley dynamic is chockablock of so much Dame Win it makes me want to *squeesplode* all over the place!

    Now must make time for Midwife and Vikings…

  5. Nevey B. says:

    I just adore Vikings and Sleepy Hollow but also gets some time to watch Downton Abbey and Call of the Midwife. I wish if you added Dracula and Mr Selfridge those are just amazing; specially when Dracula is one of my favorite re-tellings but may be the Lucie story does not fit for me but all over it’s just perfect.

  6. […] April, we Corsets, Cutlasses, & Candlesticks members blogged about the current golden age of historical TV series—a wonderful trend for the small screen. I love being able to turn on my TV during almost any […]

Leave a Reply

