What We’re Reading Now

The rain has set in (here in the Pacific Northwest), we’re long on candy and short on daylight. Books are good companions for days like these. What are we reading?

From J. Anderson Coats:

I’ve just started THE REAL PROM QUEENS OF WESTFIELD HIGH by my agency sib Laurie Boyle Crompton. It’s about a very unlikely candidate for prom queen on a hidden-camera reality snow, and it’s already hilarious and charming and very page-turny. Can’t wait to see how it ends!Real Prom Queens

 

From Cat Winters:

My son and I are reading Heidi Schulz’s highly entertaining middle-grade novel, HOOK’S REVENGE, which was mentioned on last month’s “What We’re Reading Now” post. I’m sure young readers will be drawn to the novel because it’s about Captain Hook’s daughter, but I’m thoroughly enjoying it because it’s the tale of an opinionated, hysterically funny girl who enjoys bucking tradition and being herself.

 

From Jennifer McGowan:

I’m reading THE SIXTH EXTINCTION by James Rollins–a thriller that mixes science and history with all of the save-the-world action. It starts out with a re-imagining of Charles Darwin’s voyage to South America in 1831, and the terrible things he might have discovered during a side-trip to Antarctica, which figure prominently in the present-day adventure. 

 

From Sharon Biggs Waller:

I just this minute finished reading ISLA AND THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER by Stephanie Perkins. It’s just as adorable and heart-warming as her other two books in the series.  Interestingly, there’s a part in the story where Isla reads a book about an orchid hunter and tells her boyfriend how dangerous the occupation was.  I had to laugh because my next novel is about an orchid hunter, and yes it was dangerous.Isla

 

From Katherine Longshore:

I recently (and finally!) started reading OUTLANDER by Diana Gabaldon.  It has been recommended to me so consistently and so frequently that when I spotted it in an airport bookshop, I snapped it up.  I haven’t seen the Starz show yet, and will now have to wait until I finish the book.  Anybody else out there feel like you have to read the book before seeing a movie?

 

From Laura Golden:

I’ve just finished SKELLIG by David Almond. It tells of ten-year-old Michael and his discovery of a Skelligmysterious man/creature half living, half dying in the darkest corner of the garage. It is elegantly written and a fast read. Though the book was published as middle grade, it received a Printz Honor in 2000, the award’s inauguration year. There is a prequel, MY NAME IS MINA, that I can’t wait to get my hands on. Almond’s writing is certainly something to aspire to. Gorgeous. (And to answer Katy’s question, above: yes! I must always read a book before seeing the movie. It’s for this very reason I’ve not yet seen The Maze Runner. At the rate I’m slogging through my to-read pile, I likely never will. ;-))

 

From Jessica Spotswood:

I just finished Atia Abawi’s THE SECRET SKY, which is set in modern-day Afghanistan. It’s about a Hazara girl who falls in love with her childhood best friend, a Pashtun boy, with dire consequences from their families, their village, and the local Taliban-esque thugs who believe they are enforcing Islamic moral law. The author is an NBC correspondent and this is a really powerful, heartbreaking, ultimately hopeful story.Secret Sky

 

From Susan Hill Long:

I just started reading the second in Cynthia Voigt’s trilogy about Solutioneer Max Starling, MISTER MAX and the Book of Secrets. I thoroughly enjoyed the twists and turns of the first book in the series, and look forward to more.

What are you reading? Let us know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “What We’re Reading Now

  1. Abby Murphy says:

    I agree, I have to read the book before I see the movie! I actually just finished reading OUTLANDER so I could watch the show (but my to-watch list is nearly as long as my to-read list, so that might take forever).

  2. susan hill long says:

    SKELLIG is another book-to-movie. I loved the book too much to risk seeing it rendered on film.

Leave a Reply

